The situation is casting light on what some some says are outdated tenant and landlord laws in Arkansas.
With a sick baby, single mom Kim Krippendorf said she really didn't need the news she received from her landlord before Christmas.
"He said, by the first of the year, we are going to need you out," Krippendorf said.
Krippendorf says her landlord told her he'd sold the rental home she's lived in with her two kids for the last 6 months.
But Krippendorf says without a sign out front or any visitors. She didn't even know it was for sale.
Now, she says, she's left scrambling.
"I don't have the money, especially around Christmas time to just pack up and move. No, we don't do we," Krippendorf said.
She hoped for at least have had thirty days notice.
"I don't feel like it's right," Krippendorf said.
But we called the landlord who said krippendorf had been late on rent and attorney Stephen Giles says it appears the landlord was within legal rights.
"If they didn't pay rent, they have to get out."
Giles says the landlord only had to provide 10 days notice and didn't have to tell Krippendorf the home was for sale.
The rental laws in Arkansas, he says, need tweaking but are pretty clear.
"It's a sad situation, but it's a business and it's a contract and parties are bound to what they agreed to."
But Krippendorf says she isn't packing yet.
"I don't have the money or the means to move right now," Krippendorf said.
The landlord was very sympathetic to Krippendorf's situation as a single mom, but said she had to look out for her own interests.
Stephen Giles is on a committee that is looking to modify some of these laws. He expects they'll bring it to the legislature soon.